Finding Home by Kate Field #bookreview @katehaswords @rararesources @0neMoreChapter_

An uplifting story of found family and true love perfect for fans of Fern Britton and Veronica Henry.
Kate writes contemporary women’s fiction, mainly set in her favourite county of Lancashire, where she lives with her husband, daughter and mischievous cat.
The romance in the book was rather beautifully done. It is a relationship which is probably obvious to the reader from early on but it was lovely to read about the slowly developing love between two people who were from quite different backgrounds on the face of things but who actually had much more in common than you’d think.
She might not have much in this world, but it cost nothing to be kind… 
Meet Beatrice and William Howard: Bill and Bea to you. The heads of the Howard family and owners of Venhallow Hall, a sprawling seaside Devonshire estate… stranded in a layby five hours from home the night before their niece’s wedding.
About the author
Kate’s debut novel, The Magic of Ramblings, won the RNA’s Joan Hessayon Award for new writers.
Meet Miranda Brown: you can call her Mim. She’s jobless, homeless and living in her car… but with a history like hers she knows she has a huge amount to be grateful for.
She is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.
My thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour and for my review copy of the book from Netgalley. Finding Home is published by One More Chapter and available now as an ebook. The paperback will follow in July. You can buy your copy here: Finding Home
When fate brings the trio together, Mim doesn’t think twice before offering to drive the affable older couple home. It’s not like she has anywhere else to be. But as the car pulls into the picturesque village of Littlemead, Mim has no idea how her life is about to change…
As much as Mim didn’t like people making assumptions about her and people like her, she was sometimes rather quick to judge others herself. Over the course of the book though she came to learn that different kinds of families bring different kinds of opportunities, challenges and pressures and that everything was not always as rosy as it appeared. Many people in the book learned valuable lessons about not judging others on preconceived ideas or first impressions. As Bea and Bill’s son Corin pointed out, ‘None of us choose our background.’
Kate Field’s books are a joy to read and Finding Home is no exception. It is a warm hearted and uplifting read about kindness and finding your place in the world. I loved it!
From the back of the book
Finding Home is a gorgeous read which I enjoyed immensely from the very first page. It’s obvious straightaway what a kind and selfless person Mim is when she offers to drive stranded couple Bill and Bea Howard home in time for their niece’s wedding. This isn’t just a quick drive across town. No, this is a five hour drive from Lancashire to Devon. Mim is really down on her luck, has been living in her car for a couple of weeks in fact and the contrast between her life and the Howards couldn’t be greater. The Howards are the owners of a large house, Vennhallow, on a big seaside estate and have quite a large and exuberant family. This family takes Mim to their hearts (as did I) and her life changed in ways she could never have imagined.
The difference kindness makes is evident throughout this book. Mim has had a difficult life and she really appreciates any small kindnesses shown to her. On the other hand, I did feel there was more than a touch Lizzie Bennet’s pride about her at times which made her defensive, even rather prickly. When you know what she’s been through, you realise that this is a defence mechanism from someone who didn’t expect much from life. At times though, this pride did make her rather over-react to some of the opportunities which came her way but I could understand why she behaved this way. Her own determination to make life better for people in similar situations to those she had experienced was heart-warming.

Posted by Contributor