Category: Book Reviews

Kitchen Essays by Agnes Jekyll – review

The author of Kitchen Essays (1922) was sister-in-law to the great Gertrude Jekyll, whose biographer wrote that if she ‘was an artist-gardener, then Agnes was an artist-housekeeper.’ Agnes was a famous hostess (the guests at her first

Get a free e-copy of Sugar and Snails by Anne Goodwin plus read my #bookreview @annecdotist

Short bio and other links Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnJ5pbhSLho&feature=youtu.be YouTube: Anne Goodwin’s YouTube channel As an adult, she’s kept other people at a distance… until Simon sweeps in on a cloud of promise and possibility. But his

ShortBookandScribes #BookReview – The Shadow Man by Helen Fields

An international and Amazon #1 best-selling author, Helen is a former criminal and family law barrister. Every book in the Callanach series has claimed an Amazon #1 bestseller flag. The last book in the series,

Balancing the Books – January 2021

January is behind us. For some it will have been the longest January ever. For others it will have been busy enough to keep them occupied enough. For us, it’s been a daily balance of

ShortBookandScribes #BookReview – Love, Masks & Social Distancing by Caroline Carter

Today I’m sharing my thoughts about Love, Masks & Social Distancing by Caroline Carter. My thanks to the author for the review copy of the book. Love, Masks, and Social Distancing (I think you can

News of the World Book Review

Being a young child and having been held captive by a Kiowa tribe for 4 years, Joannah doesn’t know much English and so I loved how the author chose to write in her vernacular; I’ve

Lucy Jago – Q&A

4. Was there anything about the process of publishing a book that surprised you? Anne Turner has wit and talent – but no stage on which to display them. Little stands between her and the

#TenThings about author Jennifer deBie -The Adventures of Dogg Girl and Sidekick – @deBieJennifer

4. She writes poetry. Joining me today to share #TenThings about her self is Texan author Jennifer deBie. Jennifer’s YA book is The Adventures of Dogg Girl and Sidekick and features college students and superheroes.

ShortBookandScribes #BookReview – Everything is Beautiful by Eleanor Ray

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places When Amy Ashton’s

Coming Home to Brightwater Bay by Holly Hepburn #bookreview @simonschusterUK @RandomTTours @TeamBATC @HollyH_Author

If you don’t already follow the real Orkney Library on Twitter by the way, I really recommend you do. It’s a very funny account and the ‘friendly’ rivalry with Shetland Library is hilarious. Coming Home