Catch up with Christmas Reads: I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day – Milly Johnson | The Winter Garden – Heidi Swain | The Dead of Winter – Nicola Upson (Josephine Tey Mystery #9)

A story of knowing when to hold on and when to let go, of pushing limits and acceptance, of friendship, love, laughter, mince pies and the magic of Christmas.This is the third book in the Nightingale Square series and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it as a standalone. I’ve checked my books and I do already have the first one in the series Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square – this one I shall be bumping up my reading list.

For 3 couples (well, really only 2 were and 1 of those were in the process of divorcing), they all tried to muck in together and make the best of the situation. With no landline or mobile signal, phones were useless so they had to make their own entertainment with whatever outdated games they could find in the cupboards. Luckily for them there was a fully stocked kitchen and bar to keep some Christmas cheer going but despite Luke’s cheesy cracker jokes and the Baileys, not everyone was happy and for some there was sadness and big decisions to make.Freya is quite happy living and working as head gardener at the Broad-Meadows country estate in Suffolk – that is until Eloise her elderly employer dies. However Eloise’s American nephew has his own plans for the estate. A chance meeting with Luke Lonsdale and his wife Kate, the owners of Prosperous Place in Nightingale Square give Freya the possibility of being involved in something quite wonderful involving the creation of a winter garden. It looks like a new start is on the cards for Freya and Nell, Eloise’s nervous rescue dog – if only life was that simple!Published by Simon & Schuster
Available in ebook, audio, hardcover (29 October 2020) | paperback (11 November 2021)
Source: Purchased copy from AudibleMY THOUGHTSFor once, Jacqueline especially, and Marta have little to do in this mystery and are largely relegated to the role of bystanders and assisters. It is Archie who has to take charge and attempt to keep the remaining guests safe particularly when he discovers that more than one death has taken place.
The Winter Garden is the perfect read this Christmas, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Cathy Bramley and Sarah Morgan.
The Winter Garden is the perfect read this Christmas, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Cathy Bramley and Sarah Morgan.
The Winter Garden is the perfect read this Christmas, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Cathy Bramley and Sarah Morgan.
Published by Simon & Schuster
Available in ebook, audio, paperback (1 October 2020)
464 pages
Source: Copy received from publisherNarrated by Colleen Prendergast
Length: 10h 22m

It’s nearly Christmas and it’s snowing, hard. Deep in the Yorkshire Moors nestles a tiny hamlet, with a pub at its heart. As the snow falls, the inn will become an unexpected haven for six people forced to seek shelter there…
I really enjoy this series and was delighted when a copy of The Dead of Winter, came through the letterbox courtesy of Sophie from Faber & Faber.
The isolation of the Mount adds to the atmosphere of this ‘locked room’ mystery. There were no shortage of suspects and enough red herrings to keep taking me down the wrong path. The final journey to the conclusion was a well structured series of revelations that I hadn’t even considered.
The narration by Colleen Prendergast was excellent and the different voices for each character bought them all to life – even Radio Brian, ‘the alternative BBC’ whose radio commentary kept them entertained (and me) over their unexpected Christmas together.

Posted by Contributor